Ausmossie

By ausmossie

Fresh Sweet Potatoes

Around town you are prolly never more than 5 steps from someone selling something. This guy is selling freshly cooked sweet potatoes.

The big round thing is an oven where they use coal to cook the sweet potatoes. Once they are cooked, he lines them up on the top of the machine to keep them warm. Cooked in the jacket and ready to eat, they just await eager hands and bellies to make the purchase. They are very cheap and very good to eat. I am sure a lot of people only buy them to keep their hands warm though.

You can notice that the lady buying, is wearing a mask. Particularly in winter because of the amount coal burned for heating, the air is very dirty. In summer it's not good but winter it's terrible. It is not uncommon to see people wearing masks like that. My friends asked me to do it but I am not sure it was because they were concerned about my health.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.