CanCarrier

By CanCarrier

Calton Hill in the snow

I have lived in Edinburgh since 1990 and I am confident that I have NEVER seen this much snow in one fall in the city centre. I am hoping that the council come and grit and plough and sweep the slush away before it freezes into killer ice.

Sledging note.

Do you have a sledge?
No, but I have a card board box folded flat inside a heavy duty plastic bag.
That'll do.

Remember to take a hair band to tie your hair back or it will get wet and stick to your face in a really disgusting way.

Remember to zip up ALL your pockets or they will get full of snow which will then melt disgustingly.

Remember that if you own a pair of ski goggles leaving them in the box under the bed is pretty pointless.

And remember when hammering down hill at terminal velocity, remember to breath.

So me and my improvised sledge went up Arthur's Seat in the still falling snow. Folk were out with the kids building snowmen, and snow forts. Having snow fights and walking the dogs. Everybody was so friendly, the kids were laughing and crying and generally having a brilliant time.

I sledged till I was soaked and exhausted, which didn't take long. Then went home for tea and a snack.

Enjoy your Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.