Up in smoke

By nicotinn

David-5-57

Name: David
Average number of pipes smoked in a day: 5
Started smoking when he was: 57

David started to smoke three year ago, when his wife died.

A big thank you to all of you who have checked this journal. I give the url to all the people who have the kindness to let me take their photograph. I know that most of them check their portrait, and the portraits of all their fellow smokers.
I am very touched by the great reaction that this journal has received here on blipfoto and the surprisingly high number of subscriptions.
I am still not sure where this is going, but I enjoy these little glimpses in the lives of so many strangers.
Well, former strangers, I now know a lot of smokers by their first name on the streets of Dún Laoghaire. It's good to bump into them day after day.

I guess that it all started here, with the supreme air of defiance in the eyes of Paddy and Brian, thrown onto the street following the smoking ban in public places. Marginalised but not broken.

If I had to pick my most memorable smokers to dates, they would be:

Martin-Yellow Beard-40-13
Paul-married to the nicotin-50-24
Eileen-15-15
Paddy-Let me tell you something-20-22
Jimmy-take care of yourself-1-19
Ciaran-passive smoking ruined my life-20-17
Ger-Maastricht-20-12
Lubo-cover of his book-10-7

And of course, Eric-Alpha Smoker-40-3!!!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.