Day by day

By LizzieBeattie

Sun and frost

What a frost this morning! The sun eventually came around the house and shone on the Euphorbia Melifera. Melifera as in honey - the flowers smell very strongly of it. It had been doing very well until last winter when the frost got the better of it and I thought that it was a gonner. In the spring, I started cutting down the remnants of the old stems when I noticed that there were signs of new growth coming from the bottom. In any case, the stems still seemed to have sap in the lower parts so I left them as you see now.

And now we have had another cracking frost with more to come. I wonder whether the young growth which you can see frozen solid, will survive, indeed, whether the plant will survive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.