John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Mysterious Reflections...

We were just at the end of our drive from New York in mid-afternoon when I spotted this array of light on a building near the center of downtown Northampton. I parked opposite and blipped it, adding the the curved reflection from our car to the ensemble. (View it LARGE.)

It's the sun reflected from windows in the building opposite--only possible with the low afternoon sun near the winter solstice--and the bizarre optics of the window glass. I had never seen this before.

I've previously remarked on the number of brick buildings in our region--here the bricks are painted over--indeed it's the very building I blipped here, from the right-hand side, with a very foreshortened view of the grey front wall!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.