Random four

The winter chill tickles my fingers. Bare branches become baskets of golden straw as the last rays are caught in them. There is silence except for rubber rolling upon tar. There is music, slow Christmas baritones, frugal trombones, a moody piano and a whistling accordion. The song doesn't call upon the listener, it plays without regard to who shall listen. Perhaps if only one in a large crowd is moved, the song shall chuckle and keep playing. A foamy latte warms the fingers as it sweetens the tongue. There are Christmas trees on the cup too. There are houses being lit up with little yellow lights. It is that moment before the sun departs, when it is a red ball bubbling upon the horizon.

Had a few things at work to take care of, had a few things to arrange before the week begins. Had a couple of glasses of hot chocolate alongside lunch because it felt just right. And the afternoon ride was as slow as it gets. Took to a few new roads in the suburbs but decided not to go as far as the countryside. By now, I have some idea of the roads around the place and S reminds me, I should remember I am not going to be here forever. I recall something very similar my friend was telling me about where I live in Delhi and how well I am getting to know and like it though I do not know how long I will be there. As I was taking a walk the other evening, I thought if it were my last day here, would I do anything differently, would I still be taking the walk? My answer was yes. For me it is always about the here and now. Naïve or ignorant as that may sound, to me little else matters.

Was watching Gran Torino the other night and enjoyed its intensity. The movie is about compassion above all else. Long time ago, a friend had told me compassion is a virtue and my instinct back then was to doubt her. But that was a long time ago.

Larger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.