Through the Looking Glass

By lookingglass

Artwork by Lee Bontecou in the Empire State Plaza

Day after day, state workers in the Empire State Plaza government complex walk past art which is worth millions of dollars -- often without realizing what's on the walls around them.

A couple of years ago I read a fascinating article in Harpers or Atlantic Monthly or one of those type of magazines about a woman, Lee Bontecou, who had at one time been an up-and-coming name in the art world. Then poof, she disappeared from the art scene.

Someone had finally talked Ms. Bontecou into into a retrospective of her work created over the many years that she'd been reclusive. The Museum of Modern Art in Manhattan was having the exhibit travel there -- actually to their Queens outpost while MOMA was remodeling. Here's an excellent New York Times article about the exhibit.

I went to the show which was quite interesting. Then one day maybe a year later I happened to glance over at one of the art pieces in Plaza that I've walked past a million times. Suddenly it hit me. Holy moly, I think that's by Lee Bontecou. Sure enough this 1966 untitled piece -- -- paint, fiberglass, and leather on welded metal framework -- has been sitting there for the almost 20 years that I've cruised by on my way to my car, to get lunch etc. It's kind of nice to know that this piece is sitting right downstairs for me to drop by at any time. No crowds, no museum fee, just some beautiful art. Pretty cool, huh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.