Hop Barn

By hopbarn

Steep Staircase or Story of Big Feet

One of my earliest memories of these stairs leading to the cellar in what was my grandparent's house but is now my mother's, is my Grandfather telling me that I should always go down these stairs backwards as they are so steep it's easy to fall down. I'm sure you can see where I'm going with this but just in case.... Like most people when I'm told I should do something in a particular way I see it as a challenge instead of guidance. Also my Grandfathers feet were HUGE.... size 54 in German, no idea what size that is in English, but HUUUUGE! He had to have his shoes made by hand. So I reasoned that as his feet were more like flippers they'd therefore be difficult to control; whereas mine at size 38 (UK5) were quite dainty in comparison and as such I'd have complete control over them and shouldn't have any problem going down these stairs in the usual manner. And naturally most of the time this is the case. However, just occasionally, I have misjudged my step and come a cropper. The last time was a week ago. I went down vertically, feeling every last step on the back of my legs, my buttocks, my rear ribs and my left arm - luckily not my head. I felt it all as if in slow motion, I couldn't stop and when I got to the bottom, I fell on the floor where I felt a bit stupid for a while. The bruises are slowly healing; the one of the back of my calf seems to be the worst one and is still quite blue. Maybe one day I will learn.


I have another funny story about my Grandfathers feet, also when I was a little girl, about 10 years old. My German grandparents were visiting my Scottish grandparents in Dundee and we were also there. I don't remember very much at all about this particular vacation except for a shopping trip that we went on. For some reason I was alone with my Grandfather who decided that it was so cold in Dundee that he would like some slippers. How he thought he would find any his size I don't know - he must have been very optimistic. Anyway, his accent was really bad and he asked the saleswoman for "slippers for the bathroom" which she misunderstood for "QUICKLY I NEED THE BATHROOM!" So I was suddenly left on my own in the shoe shop while he was led down into the cellar and shown the way to the toilet. After about 15 minutes he reappeared - he thought that this was an innovative way of selling "slippers for the bathroom" - actually leading him to the bathroom where he expected they would show him their latest models, but when nothing of the like happened he eventually returned to the shop floor. I remember being a bit confused about the whole thing, I was only little after all, but it still makes me smile. I don't think he was successful - not with those HUUUUGE feet anyway!


For those of you who are following my mother's progress, she has had her first day of freedom following the removal of all tubes and bandages today. She is doing well. Her echocardiogram showed that the repaired heart valve is working perfectly. Tomorrow she will have another die test to see if the new piece of artificial aorta is functioning correctly and she will get a ride on a bicycle and be able to have her first shower. I was able to take her to a restaurant for some ice cream this afternoon - unbelievable really!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.