Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

Bleak and blue

The stark beauty of poplars against this winter landscape spoke to me today. It looks as jagged as I feel.

We brought the ailing iMac to the Mac hospital this morning. It will take about a week before they get back to us with a diagnosis and an estimate but it doesn't look promising. It is most likely the hard drive, and if they can't salvage it, I stand to loose huge chunks of my personal history. All my photos, for a start, thousands of them, dating back to when the children were very young and we got our first digital camera - all 2 megapixels of it. Then, all my recipes, if you can call them that. A couple hundred of hastily thrown together jottings of memorable dishes that I made. Some of them were my grandmother's and my mother's dishes that I reconstructed from nothing but taste memory. And finally, years of intensive note-taking from my Jin Shin Jyutsu practice. I'm not even counting a massive electronic address book or the bank stuff or cherished correspondence from friends. My heart aches just thinking about it.

The price for having this data extracted from a broken hard drive? Two thousand Euros, give or take, the Mac guy said. It's not an option. I have only myself to blame for not securing my data more carefully.

Guess I was due another lesson in letting go. It sucks.


p.s. The photo looks monochrome but is actually colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.