Rich Dyson

By EdinImage

Getting lucky more often

I have had a couple of days off on holiday originally to go around some of the Historic Scotland buildings that were to be open to the public free of charge for St Andrews Day. Unfortunately, the freak cold snap has put an end to that and instead I have been wandering the streets of Edinburgh.

I got into an interesting conversation with an Eastern European woman who was telling me how much easier photography is these days because of photoshop and digital cameras. You can shoot all day and then one shot will be the lucky one. I agree to a degree with this, that volume of images is possible with a digital camera but the one thing that bugs me is sitting around taking the same shot all day hoping that one comes out well so I try to be 'lucky' with fewer shots.

This image is one of those that every photographer does and you can sit for hours until you get a nicely exposed light trail, the wheel almost fully filled by light and a nice sky. This was the first shot of three - guess I am just lucky..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.