dailykeith

By dailykeith

Sweet kisses

I couldn't resist capturing this sign at the German market, which seems to have adopted the modus operandi of the murkier parts of the neighbourhood.

I can't help feeling that this is quite a steep price to pay. There is, however, a bargain to be had just a little further along, with 10 kisses for £6.50.

Away from the bratwursts, heart-shaped biscuits and weird crystal lamps, there was a more palatable taste of Christmas when I was heading home tonight.

From quite a long way off, I heard the notes of Silent Night drifting through the air. The music gradually increased in volume until I saw the light from a giant illuminated Christmas reindeer reflecting off the trumpets and tubas of a Salvation Army band.

They were playing so beautifully, it brought a lump to the throat - a truly magical moment.

There wasn't time to linger, though - I had a prior engagement at M&S to act as a personal shopper to Mrs Dailykeith.

After several false starts in her search for a hat, a suitable one was found.

Well I never! I'm sitting here listening to Radcliffe and Maconie on the radio and punk poet John Cooper Clarke has suddenly made an appearance. Now that's a nice surprise.

I remember JCC from when he supported Be Bop Deluxe back in (I think) 1978.

To sign off, here's one of his tamer one-liners:

I eat a third of a Mars Bar a day... just to help me rest

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.