My Photographic Footprint

By Theodora8

A touch of Vegetarianism?

The animals are arriving for the fat stock show. I saw them being unloaded, weighed, brushed, pushed into the pens, being given straw to keep warm. There was a lot of noise from the pigs.
There was a guy going round spraying the wheels of everything. Childrem were leaning into the pens, choosing their favourite pig.

I had the inevitable feeling of their fate.

I got home and uploaded the photos. It was then that I saw the details The look on a sheep's face as a pig was trotting down a ramp towards the scales. The look on the pigs face, eager for an adventure, a change from a normal boring day being a pig.

Maybe it is because I am tired, but it suddenly seemed rather unbearable. I really don't think I can go back to photograph the presentation and see the animals again.

I feel so hypocritical, as I love bacon, lamb, beef and so on. But when you see not only the faces of your food, but the alert interest on it... that is not so easy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.