Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Scotland's Gift to the World

I spent the first 25 years of my life in the UK and I've been back to visit many times, but I haven't been to Scotland -- yet. My American wife, C, has been there three times and keeps telling me I (we) need to go. (She's a descendant of the St. Clairs of Rosslyn Chapel). I am rather fond of Scotland's best known export, particularly single malts from the island of Islay.

The book was C's anniversary present to me. I was familiar with Michael Jackson's wonderful books on beer, but had no idea he'd written this equally fine work on single malt whiskies. It's well written, the photography is excellent, and the printing and binding is first class. Reading it does tend to make a body thirsty, though.

Scotland has moved to the top of my "big trip" list. After the expense of the basement project, it will probably have to wait until 2012. C has already presented me with the itinerary.

p.s.

Other important Scottish exports are marmalade and shortbread. American marmalade is too sweet -- it's really orange jam. We sometimes buy the expensive imported stuff, but make occasional trips across the border to BC to stock up on Safeway marmalade. Ironically, it's made in the US, but not sold here. On the return trip we like to see the puzzled look we get when we answer the usual "What did you buy" question at the border crossing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.