Is That A Sitar in Your Truck?

Or are you just glad to see me?

An actual blip for a change. Chinatown in Victoria consists more or less of one block on one street (Fisgard), but it spills over a little into the neighbouring couple of streets if you want to get technical. Lots of red and green, complemented in this photo by blue and yellow, just for the duration of the delivery. I guess it's always Christmas there.

I had a sitar made for me in Agra, India, many years ago, and prevailed on a friend to take it home to Canada for me while I continued my travels. Never heard the end of his complaints afterwards. Apparently the airlines balk at anything longer than a metre. Still have it but rarely play it any more. They call the hollow resonator gourd a "pumpkin", and spent most of three weeks carving it. I took beginner sitar lessons while I waited fo the builders to finish "my" sitar.

Happy December! Long cold nights for us northerners. Long hot days for you southerners.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.