The Lizard Meanders

By lizardmeanders

Cold Outside

Our friend and neighbor M is the epitome of generosity and caring. She volunteers for many different causes, is active in book clubs, maintains an avid and active interest in music and the arts. Last night when I nipped into her kitchen there were lovely smells in the air. She had four pots on full steam on her stove, and a sink full of beautiful, green, curly kale ready to go into another dish-- she was making dinner for friends who are celebrating their fifteenth wedding anniversary today.

On top of all of this and caring for her own family and their beautiful Cavalier King Charles spaniels, M is such a warm and down to earth person, and the reason I quite forget that we don't really have any extended family to speak of around here.

M takes both her daughter N and my daughter G to school most mornings. And so G and I walk a few doors down (150 paces, both girls have counted) for the daily hand-off. Often in the afternoons, I also have the pleasure of both girls' company.

Today is chilly and cold (but no snow yet, people; after all, we are in coastal Virginia-- and though I envy all your beautiful postcard-like Blips of white on white I'll take my dose of winter vicariously for now, thank you).

Still, M's doggies Henry (on left) and Maggie (on right) know what we should really all be doing this morning...


Post script:

Thank you so much to Susan for linking my Journal to hers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.