One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Jacintha in the hood

Here we go, 1000 almost consecutive images, ramblings and snippets of lives.

I had absolutely no idea this morning what I was going to be posting. And yet the minute I clicked this, it became evident that this would be my 1000th blip.

Without blipfoto, I would never have been having this chat with Jacintha today at lunch time.
The whole photographic journal experience has helped me to connect. Not just with hundreds of fellow addicts enthusiasts within the cyber blip community, but with real people also, on the train, in the shops, all the people who have accepted to have my camera turned on them, who have let my lens intrude in their passing lives for a few seconds. And there is also my long suffering family who have had to live with this obsession for recording all the little moments that make our...well... family life.
I have always had that hoarder's instinct in me. The desire to keep. To preserve. To stash away so that I can come back to it at a later time. And I hope that my kids will one day appreciate to its full value this easy access to a pretty comprehensive account of their early lives and the times we lived in.

Gone is the near religious fervour [shudder] of the first 2 or 3 milestones.
Don't get me wrong, I am no less grateful to Joe, Graham and the whole blipfoto team for this life changing experience.
But even if the celebration is much lower key, subtle almost (just almost though, this is still I, Raheny Eye), it is nonetheless sincere.
Blipfoto has become a daily celebration of the little things that make life.
Not just any life, but one that is particularly dear to me: mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.