Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Alehouse Rock

Regular readers will know that I am a passionate aficionado of cask-conditioned ale, and have been lucky enough to spend my whole adult life working with (or at least reasonably near) the stuff. From my first youthful taste of Banks's Mild, through the days I spent working at the fledgling Lancaster Brewery, to my current position encouraging youngsters to put down their alcopop/cheap cocktail/fizzy chemical piss-water and try something with a bit of flavour, I've devoted myself to championing our national drink where and whenever possible.

Pump-clips are a fine old tradition connected to hand-pulled ale, and I love rooting through boxes of older ones, admiring the artwork and design on them, and their feel for history and tradition. Of course, some breweries eschew that aesthetic and go for more modern tactics (check out Ossett's Revolution IPA in the bottom right, complete with obligatory image of Comandante Guevara - what would El Che have made of that?) but even so, these pump-clips add life and colour to any pub or bar.

Now, if you'll excuse me, writing that was thirsty work. I'm off for a pint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.