Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Surprise

Went to Leicester with younger son Hugo for a badminton tournament.
I decided to go walkabout, to visit Bradgate Park created in the 15th century; Bradgate House was begun in 1490 - the birthplace of Lady Jane Grey, later Queen, for 9 days.

I wanted to see a distinctive beer-mug shaped folly known as 'Old John' on the top of the highest hill in the park, built in 1784.

On the way - it was quite a trek in all the snow and ice - I looked up and saw this fellow staring back at me. Backlit and in the distance I took a shot anywhay.

Just caught me by surprise!

I made it to Old John and enjoyed fabulouse views, also had a good time expolring Leicester - a very nice place.

Hugo and his partnber didn't do too well in the tournament - but thats another story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.