Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Shining Bright

My Mom told a story over dinner tonight about my daughter and my nephew that had us all laughing and I announced right then and there....

This story must be shared on blip.

And who knows, maybe it is a 'had to be there' moment or a 'have to know the people' type of moment but it is a story that I want recorded forever because I could just visualize the entire scene taking place as she was describing it.

Over Thanksgiving, my Mom said that she and my daughter (3) and my nephew (4) were sitting up at the counter talking. My daughter looked at my Mom and said, "Nona, I'm a dig durl (big girl)" and my nephew leaned in and whispered to her, "That is baby talk Nona". Two minutes later, he leaned over to her again and said, "I wuv you Nona" and almost immediately my sister (the speech therapist) was in her other ear saying, "That's totally developmental Mom. Children at his age confuse the L for the W". And my Mom looked at her laughing and said, "Forget it, I'm still telling this story to my friends and I am going to laugh about it every single time I tell it".

Just another little kiddie story to add to our collection. Little stories that shine so bright.

--------------

I also want to send my prayers to my sister-in-law and her family this evening. Today she lost her Grandfather. He was in his 90's and they were very close. She has lost three of her four Grandparents just this year. There is something that she said on the phone this evening that has continued to be on my mind. When speaking of her Mom and how her Mom was feeling today, my sister-in-law said, "My Mom feels like she can begin to let go a little because she had such a close relationship with him. She doesn't have any regrets because he was such a big part of her life, as she was such a big part of his life".

I hung up the phone thinking how true this is. As hard as it is to lose someone so close to you in your life, I am sure the grieving process must be easier if you know that you always gave your all to the relationship. To have the peace in knowing that you never took it for granted or had the mentality that 'someday' it might just be better or that 'someday' you might just try a little harder.

My sister-in-law and her family cherished him and he knew that. During the last minute of his life, he had the peace in knowing that. It is comforting knowing that through the sadness they are all feeling today, there is also a peace in knowing that their relationship together was complete. It is again another reminder of how important family and friends are in our lives and how we must continue to live and appreciate our loved ones now, in the moment. Because we just don't know when that 'moment' might be over. My thoughts are with this family tonight as they come together to mourn his loss while at the same time, begin to celebrate the life of a man that continued to make an incredible impact in each of their lives.

-------------

Oh and this blip is VERY abstract. My Dad drove us into town late this afternoon because he wanted to treat the kids to hot chocolate. I sat in the passenger seat and had a ball practicing bokeh shots with my camera. I believe this particular set of 'dots' was taken at a stop light. Have I mentioned how much I love my fancy camera lately?!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.