Too old to die young

By msh

Centre Court Off Season

I make my living as a tourist guide in and around London and Northamptonshire and tour manager around the world. I was really chuffed to be asked to join a small group of guides who take groups around Wimbledon Tennis Stadium. Chuffed until I saw the amount of stuff I have to learn. A huge encyclopaedia of facts and figures. All the champions since 1877, all the unusual records AND the usual ones. Let's face it didn't you want to wipe Cliff's singing from your memory as quickly as possible! Now I have to drag all this up again.
I assigned myself 3 study days at Wimbledon this week. As I am not sure of rules and regulations on photography yet I only took my iPhone today. Although many of you have the most fantastic results with this camera, I found it quite a challenge. However I came up with a Blip I quite liked. This is Centre Court but not as we know it. Completely empty and the court covered in snow. The glass barrier is to stop people going a.. over t.. down the gangway but this one was right under the edge of the roof. As you can see there was a slight bit of sunlight which melted the snow on the roof. The drops landed on the glass in the shade where it promptly refroze. I thought it looked quite unusual. The yellow glow at the bottom of the picture was caused by a bank of lights to warm up the grass to encourage growth. A bit surreal.
Back tomorrow to join some of my more experienced colleagues in the hope that some of their knowledge may rub off on me. I will bring my "real" camera then.

Thank you all for your encouraging comments on my first 2 blips. I am fully aware that I inherited some of Wayfarers fans but I'm not proud. Hopefully I'll get some of my own soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.