Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Cold night

Well, in fact, it was a cold day too. From my office window I could see it would have been a great day for photography... We made some excellent progress at work, both yesterday and today, so I was still very pleased when I left.

After dinner and bed time for the girls it was back to work; to finish that last bit that I couldn't finish while I was at the office. Everything all set now for tomorrow.

The downside of all of this is the fact that no pictures were taken until after ten tonight. Time for a quick experiment in the back garden. The sky looked very clear so I thought I might have a go at creating a star trail image. Right after I had set up my tripod the clouds appeared, so I could only get a couple of practice shots.

This image may look like there was plenty to see through the viewfinder, but let me assure you this was not the case: only the outline of the trees were visible. I had trouble getting the focus right and unfortunately I only managed to get it right when all the stars had disappeared behind the clouds.

Still, not bad for a first try and I'm definitely looking forward to a night without clouds so I can have another go at this...

I'm allowing you to view this large, but I would recommend against it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.