New Day

May I introduce you to my new (to me) phone, the HTC Droid Eris. After a bit of work rooting it and than installing a custom ROM it's running Android 2.2 and doing it fabulously I might add.

Is it the equal of the iPhone? Probably not, but it's close, except that's only after the difficulty of rooting and ROMing it. My advice, if you want a great smartphone without the hassle, get an iPhone. If spending hours on the internet tracking down the best custom ROM and figuring out how to side step the manufacture's defenses to take full control over your hardware by rooting it sounds like a good time, then by all means, go Android.

Personally, I feel a smug satisfaction in having released the full potential of my phone by adding things to it that Verizon doesn't want me to have.

I love the phone. Funny thing is, I used to hate it when it was my wife's. It was constantly squawking, it was slow, the battery died in eight hours, and I could never find anything on it on the rare occasion that I would try to use it.

Am I envious that my wife is now sporting the brand new Motorola Droid Pro? Not it the least. Not only is it huge, it's got a dorky physical keyboard! A physical keyboard? What is this, 2006? Yuk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.