Necessary Improvements

Just about at the point where I'm standing to take this shot, there used to be a bus stop (just like the one over the road). A perfectly good, functioning, bus stop - 3 sides, a roof and a panel where adverts for crappy films could be displayed. Buses would stop at it on a more or less regular basis, having pulled into the layby in front of it, so as not to obstruct passing traffic on the dual carriageway. People would get on, or off, the bus.

I know that this bus stop worked as designed because I often get on the bus here. I've never felt that it was anything other than a perfectly serviceable bus stop.

Seems I'm wrong about that.

Obviously it was desirable to remove the layby and replace it with attractive stone paving blocks. In these times of cuts on public spending, I'm glad that the local authority's programme of essential bus stop improvement, by removing laybys and thus forcing the bus to stop on the main carriageway thus blocking other traffic on the road, is steaming full speed ahead. After all, its very important work that clearly needs to carry on. Well done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.