History!

This home that I now live in, was built by Terry, in a couple of stages, over 36 years ago. The first section, consisted of the ground floor with a large kitchen, entrance/sitting area, the second floor had 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. The second phase happened about 16-17 years ago - consisting of our huge living room/meditation area, and our bedroom, another bathroom and laundry room.

Throughout the house there are remnants of the original way of life for him and his family, he raised his kids in this home! For the first few years they used only kerosene lamps, then around 1974-75 they installed propane. This is one of the first propane lamp they used! It is situated on the wall in the area that now has the wood stove, and is next to the kitchen. The tv and a small sofa add to this being one of the more comfy places for both of us!

I realised when I did this image that I wanted to record some of the beautiful, historic aspects to this home.

It is said that it can be a tricky thing, moving into a home that your partner has shared with his 'other' family, and that perhaps it is a good idea to change things around, move out some of the 'old' memories, add some of your 'collective' memorabilia...well, I have to say I had no need to do such a thing. Maybe it was because our aesthetics are very similar....leaning more towards minimal and functional (and a bit on the unorganized side)....but also, at this stage in my life, I hope I have a better grasp of how important our individual history is. Just because it is mostly Terry's history that surrounds us, doesn't mean that I have lost or abandoned mine! I have added some of my history to his, we changed things around in some areas of the house, mainly the bedroom (my bed was so much more comfortable than his!), and in the kitchen! I also have a room of my own where i have lots of my family photographs and collections of 'stuff' there.....i spend a lot of time here in this space, with the computer, blip, books and more!

I also had to do a lot of delving into the meaning of our collected 'stuff' before i actually moved here. and I basically concluded that I carry so much of my history in my heart, my cells.....my memories, that I don't really need to brandish the space with them. What a feeling of freedom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.