Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Formidable Lady

Thursday night, as you'll be getting the hang of now, is Mixed Doubles night, so continuing my tennis portrait series meet Viv.

Tonight my partner was Valerie against Viv and Dave. We had a tactical chat as to how we'd overcome this formidable duo which went along the lines:

Val: "I'll serve to Viv's backhand"
Me: "Be careful she's pretty strong on the backhand"
Val: "But her forehand tends to come back fast and deep"
Me: "Hey ho, well as long as we steer clear of her volleys, because they'll kill us"

We did end up losing to the formidable duo, even though I had the opportunity of serving for the set, but we won't talk about that.

I asked Viv to stand as if receiving serve, which certainly demonstrates the Formidable Lady, but totally misses out on the fact that she's a Lovely Friendly Lady and great fun to play with / against. I've been promising those I've been blipping in this series that it's one portrait and they're off the hook. I think maybe Viv's not off the hook just yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.