dark|adapted

By dark

One Less Sunrise




Jekyll Island, morning of the wedding.


Lyn always loved sunrises. Everywhere we went, she would be off somewhere taking pictures of the sunrise. I have always preferred sunsets - mainly because I don't have to get up early for them - but on vacation, I always tried to humour her as much as I could stand, especially if there was an interesting place around to actually see the sunrise.

This is Driftwood Beach, although you can't really tell from this shot. It's full of big, gorgeous old trees that have been killed by the salt water and turned into driftwood, although I suspect they never actually "drifted" anywhere. They're probably just victims of the barrier island's slow march to the mainland.

Sunrise here was absolutely gorgeous, although the weather wasn't quite right. A bit too cloudy on the horizon. Still, the beach was completely empty, except for us and Sascha, the colors were gorgeous, and the remains of the trees added their own melancholy beauty to the proceedings. Many nice photos resulted, but I think this was the best one of her.

Looking back, I regret that we were too busy taking photos of the sunrise to simply enjoy the sunrise, together.

It was one of the last we'd have together. The next day, she heard her middle child was missing, and later that he'd been in a motorcycle accident, and that's when things started to fall apart.



So I guess this represents the last completely good day of our life together.











Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.