Dai Urnal-Instants

By DaiUrnal

Ersatz Christkindlmarkt

The Bath Christmas Market is modelled on a traditional süddeutschen Christkindlmarkt of course, so where better to place it than around the Christian place of worship at the centre of the city, Bath Abbey. The two things it usually lacks each year are the snow and biting cold. This year of course we've experienced the latter though sadly, from a visual perspective, the snow has largely swirled past Bath this time.

I took this image after getting my regular 'fix' of Bratwurst und Glühwein.

There's no need to frequent the Bath Christmas Market for that of course - the streetwise know there are shifty-eyed dealers of bug, or mulled wine and German sausage as they are sometimes also tagged, on any ill-lit side-street in any major UK city. And it's not as if my freezer isn't stuffed with Wurst or worse.

I guess it must be the atmosphere, and perhaps most of all, the reminder of good times past.

The market comes to an end next Sunday; at least I've managed to get my Chrimbo presents sorted in good time this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.