duncan

By duncan

Spinach soup recipe

How to make spinach soup:
First, catch your spinach...


Trying this one for the first time tonight. Here's the basic recipe I'm following:

Fry your onion and garlic until soft.
Add diced potato, fry a bit longer.
Add vegetable stock, simmer until potato is cooked.
Add some milk (I reckon this could probably be missed out), bring back to the simmer.
Add half the spinach, and some lemon zest.
Put the lid on the pot for 10-15 minutes until the spinach is all wilted down.
Cool.
Add to blender.
Add the remaining spinach to the blender. (apparently this helps make it a nice rich green)
Blend.
Return to pot and heat.
Season, add grated nutmeg.
Put in bowls, swirl with some double cream.

I think this would be nice with croutons and grated parmesan. I've not got bread to make croutons, so I'm doing parmesan tuiles instead. Again, for the first time, so should be interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.