Mediterranean Wanderer

By monkeyhanger

Why does it make me uncomfortble?

Blipfoto is amazing!... It pushes you in all sorts of ways. One thing I don't like is that I find myself going out to 'Get a blip'. You run the risk of only taking photo's for this purpose and not enjoying photography as much as feeling a need to upload in the desire not to miss a day.

The upside to this driver is that today as for many others I have found out something else about Santa Pola. Some rather dull buildings with roller shutters, that until now we had assumed were not in use, are infact a Thursday evening fish market. This is the first time we have found wet fish shops that open in the evening and they transform a dull area into what look like carnival stalls.

Instead of shooting galleries, dart games and the hook a duck stalls you are confronted with all varieties of seafood. There are smiles on faces and even if you don't understand the lingo you know there is 'Banter' aplenty.

So Blip got me out when I would otherwise be unaware of this phenomenon and it also pushed me to do something I find hard...talk to strangers and ask them if I can take a photo. No common tongue but we did have smiles in common. These two ladies seemed happy for me to snap away. I don't know if I will ever overcome my nerves around people when I am behind the lens but I will try.

For me people are the hardest subject. I have a real respect for people who can do wedding photography or something like that.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.