Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Switchstands almost done

I have made some DRG+W (Denver Rio Grande and Western) switchstands (in plastic), as well as finished making the RGS harp stands (in brass). The DRGW stands have two "targets" - the top one is green and would face the engineer if the turnout was set to go straight ahead. The round target below it was red, and would face the engineer if the switch was thrown and the train was to go onto the siding. OR - if the train was approaching from the other way, it would tell the engineer that the switch was thrown against him and would cause a derailment. That could spoil the whole day. These DRGW switchstands were constructed from extremely fine plastic models made by P-B-L (P-B-L.com), the supplier of most of my Sn3 moleling needs. Great people and wonderful products. There are small parts and frankly, I am glad they are made. I was ready to start drinking again and had to go searching for several parts that got away.

The stands are on the stir sticks so that I can air brush them tomorrow in black - like the stand in the middle that was completed long ago. Then add lots of rust as the RGS did not take care of anything!

If I can, these DRGW stands will turn as the turnout is thrown - just like the real thing. If my patience holds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.