Elwetritsches Welt

By Elwetritsche

Burg Lichtenberg

Lichtenberg Castle (German: Burg Lichtenberg) has a length of 425 meters and is the biggest castle ruin of Germany. It is located near Thallichtenberg in the district of Kusel, a 20 min drive for me.

The castle was built around 1200. It was never conquered or destroyed by assaults. It was severely damaged by a large fire on 26 October 1799.

In the drizzle it was only me and an American family stumbling around on the thawing snow.

There is a restaurant up there (perfectly fitted in), a youth hostel and you can get married on the castle.

Believe it or not: Someone was practising bagpipes - I followed the tones and ended up in front of a door not even close to the restaurant, where I had expected the sound to come from. I didn't knock or go in. It was a bit spooky.
(I watched the Americans do the same - it was hilarious!)

5:00 pm 2,8°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.