A Canterbury Tail

By Canterbury

Aaaargh!

It has been one of those days today. I spent several hours sorting out an internet connection to a computer in Timaru (couple of hours drive from Christchurch). In order to check out why a control system that I have recently upgraded and tested in Christchurch no longer worked when powered up in Timaru. After much hassle, involving the IT department of the company (in Auckland), a guy who wrote a custom application (in Christchurch) and the engineers using the system (in Timaru) I gained access to the PC.

I tried lots of things but nothing was working, it was almost like the devices attached to the PC weren't there. After asking the engineers to recycle power to said devices and that not helping I asked them if they were sure it was actually plugged into the PC - it wasn't, the control systems equivalent of not plugging the kettle in and wondering why it doesn't boil.

To make the day even better, I heard from the company who has my van. It went in to get a bed fitted, it was supposed to be there for 8 days. Four weeks and hundreds of excuses later, I was expecting to pick it up tomorrow. The telephone call was to tell me not to pick it up as it still wasn't ready. They now think it may be ready on Monday, we head to the UK on Wednesday and were hoping to use it before we go. No chance of that now.

This bit of graffiti kind of sums my mood up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.