Braiding Up

Braid has got it over regular fishing line any day of the week. For many, many reasons that only fishermen could tell you in order to justify the incredible cost of the product.

I struck it lucky last time I went to the tackle shop though. This braid's manufacturer is re-branding so it was heavily discounted. I might have to go back and get some more!

I now have two of my medium bay rods and reels spooled up with braid. That goes with my lightweight rods. If I get some more I might spool up my deep sea gear. The rod and reel pictured is my Abu Garcia setup, a small overhead reel which took a fair amount of practice to learn how to cast but has since become one of my favourite reels. I've had it for going on 10 years.

All this is in preparation for the Christmas break. I have 2 weeks off from Xmas eve and my plan is to spend as much of it as possible fishing. Weather permitting.

Now I just have to get through the next two weeks of work which is proving to be a little bit inconvenient.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.