Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Christmas Tree No.2

Christmas trees seem to be fashionable at the moment - so here's another blip of another tree!

I do, of course, use the word "tree" in its loosest sense in this case. This little tinsel fellow is only 1 foot high, and took up residence on top of the photocopier in my study at the end of last week. He cost me the princely sum of £1 from Tesco and I think he's quite jolly! I've spent most of today in my study doing quite hard admin work, so he's been keeping me company today.

Almost certainly we won't be having a "proper tree" this year. What with five cats, too much stuff, and a house that is already in chaos and needs a good clean, a tree of any substance really seems like it's making work for the sake of things.

When we were first married we set off on what was to be a very short-lived Christmas tree with great enthusiasm. I got a large one, that had to bend over at the ceiling a little, made a fairy for it, had lots of old family decorations and so on. At that stage we were hoping for a large family, hoping to have our parents over for Christmases, and do the whole thing "properly".

As it became apparent that my parents preferred not to travel to us for Christmas, the Wonderspouse's parents weren't up to it, and we weren't going to be able to have any children, we gradually lost enthusiasm for the whole business, so now we do what is easy and we've given up the idea of "big family Christmas round the table".

So these days we eat Christmas dinner on our sofas in front of the telly, feeding the cats on bits of goose! There are currently no plans to have anything else in the way of "tree" in the house, although I do have a purple tinsel job somewhere with integral lights that I MAY put up if the mood takes me!

And, of course, if I suddenly have a mad and manic phase, then there's always the possibility of a 9ft tree (our ceiling is about 7ft) slap bang in the middle of the sitting room!

The Wonderspouse has said he'll call my shrink if that happens though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.