Plus ça change...

By SooB

Cliche

Long day. Early start (would have been earlier had I remembered that for the iPod alarm to work, you either have to unplug the headphones or put them in your ears...) to get to Kirkcaldy in hope of a train. By happy chance there was one not long after I arrived. By another happy chance my train to London was ready in Edinburgh very early, so I didn't have to shiver on the platform.

Sleepy journey with many cups of tea and sunglasses all the way against the blinding snow reflections. I didn't fancy joining the demo in town with a heavy bag, so just headed off to my friend's place to be nearly bowled over my my godson's hug (my, don't they grow fast?)

Shopping*, pub, wine, pork belly, quick snap of a Christmas tree in the pub and home for much late night chat. Neither of us were making any sense really, but we've never been known for letting that stand in our way.

*Was planning to buy a new nib for my fountain pen, but had to backpedal quite quickly when the lovely sales lady told me the price... (120 quid - and you don't even get a whole pen for that - I'd say you could get a lifetime supply of Bic biros for that, and still have enough spare to treat all your friends and family to a lifetime supply too....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.