Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Bentwood box, side 2

Since I recently revisited the original blip of our Tlinket bentwood box,here. I thought I'd show the other side of it. The corner design here is a frog over an eagle (with humans in the eyes.) The first side was a raven over a whale. Both carved and painted. I love this NW coast native art- took many classes at the UW in all aspects and 4 1/2 years ago we sailed from Ketchikan (where we commissioned this box) thru SW Alaska Haida country to the Northern Queen Charlotte Haida ghost villages only accessible by boat for unforgettable views of an ancient culture. Unfortunately it was very difficult to get the artist to follow through, which is too bad, as he does museum quality work. But we are glad to give it a home now. Put a piece of glass on the top so I could set down a coffee cup- it's about 20" high.

Just a little respite from Christmas. (I'm trying to pretend it's not 12 days away!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.