The second half of life..

By twigs

......do you hear what I hear?

Today was to be my "get all Christmas mailings done and dusted - and in the mail!"

The day began with an early morning walk (7.15am) with M - not quite as long as the last one but every bit as good. Home, shower, breakfast.........and somehow it was almost midday!

I then set about my Christmas mailings - but somehow it got to be after 4.00pm and I still hadn't finished but I needed to get to the Post Office. I guess I shouldn't be too hard on myself - I'm 80% through and will finish tomorrow (.........morning, I hope!)

So this evening I've mowed the lawns (rapidly turning into a dust bowl), had dinner (lovely chicken salad) and done a little tidying.

I was just settling down to post today's blip (I was deciding between a weed or a caterpillar from the garden!) whilst listening to some gentle, meditative music that I'd encouraged to waft in to the office from the lounge, when it struck me that the Christmassy music I could hear wasn't what I'd put on to play.......

After a few seconds of trying to figure what it was I went back to the lounge where the music became much clearer - a brass band playing Christmas Carols! (Certainly not music from my 'Meditative' collection!) Then I saw the open deck truck parked outside with members of the local brass band perched atop happily puffing into their cornets, tubas and euphoniums and bringing the spirit of Christmas live into the neighbourhood.

With the sun just about to go down I thought this made for a much more seasonal blip - and half the neighbourhood obviously appreciated them too judging by the number of people who came out to listen.

A very nice end to a funny ol' day :)

PS - any musos out there, feel free to correct me if I've got the wrong instruments!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.