spitzimixi

By spitzimixi

snow!

I took a picture of this one Tuesday in summer. Someone commented then that I should blip it again in winter. So, there you go - snow on a Wednesday in winter. here it is in summer

Today I've been running around trying to find the Flea a helmet with a mouth protector so she can go snowboarding despite having major tooth injuries. To her great joy, we have been able to order a slalom helmet that has a removable protector across the bottom of the face (to stop the slalom sticks smacking you in the face). Obviously, this was not free. She is chuffed that she can go boarding still as it's one of her favourite things in life...this morning she gave me a lecture about money not buying happiness etc. When I pointed out to her how much her hobbies cost she grudgingly agreed that money is pretty handy should you need to buy something that might bring you happiness. Sometimes I think my children are spoilt brats...it's not often that I come out with the whole "when I were a lass" sob-story but today I did. I'm not sure if it made much of an impression but when I spend all my 'spare time' sorting out their problems and all my 'spare money' paying for their hobbies I feel I might have a right to rant and grumble about how I used to sleep in a cardboard box and work 15 hour shifts down pit and only get dry bread and dripping for tea...once a month...if we were lucky....one piece to share between all 20 children in the family. Meh.

AND, on top of that, every time I parked the car somewhere it got snowed on and froze so I had to scrape it clean to drive off again.

AND the stupid radio the children listen to is having a 'charity week' where they're raising money for 'children in war zones' which sounds very worthy and nice but, I've been interested in the subject of development and war for years, I've even studied it and have about 400 million points I'd like to make...it's getting to the point where no one wants to let me speak on the subject because even a simple statement can send me off on an hour long rant about there being no evidence that helping children in war zones does anything at all (but some evidence to show that it, in some case, it prolongs conflict) and.....hey, where are you all going, I've got more to say on the subject....!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.