Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Dirt

Now for something completely different.

I like to switch jobs (no pun) so I don't get bored. The base of the layout is blue styrofoam. Not exactly like the real thing. So since I model Dolores CO, I went there (about an hour away) and got some dirt from the area I am modeling. Yes - people did stare. My dog was very curious as well.

So I spread some on a piece of cardboard and glued it down. First spray with a little wet water (water with a few drops of dish soap to aid penetration). Then flowed on dilute white glue and voila - dirt on a board. My wife says it looks like poop.

This I took to Home Depot and had paint mixed to match the color. Yes - they did wonder what the heck I was doing. I told them and they got strangely quiet. But now I will have paint that matches the real thing and this will coat the styrofoam as a base layer. On top of that will come rocks, grass, and trees. This way if everything is not covered, you won't see blue and spoil the effect.

I may use real dirt as well -not sure yet. I need to make sure I don't import little critters into the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.