Ingunn in Oslo

By IngunnInOslo

PRIME MINISTER SALAM FAYYAD

The palestinian prime minister visit Oslo today, and it was a great experience to meet him.
Some of you know that I recently visit Gaza and the West Bank.

On my way to the meeting I saw all the policemen with weapons. That is rare in Oslo, but I guess they have to protect the prime minister, so I just passed them with a smile. And then I bursted out in laughter. I said to one them: The other policemen forgot you in the car, didn't they? He started to laugh too, and said that I was very observant. He got locked inside the car and forgotten. Hahaha :-)) so funny.

Then I passed alot of the policemen on the stairs to the building. And I started to laugh. I told them: you are all crazy standing here with weapons. The only danger thing that can happen to the prime minister is these slippery stairs. why don't you spend your time spreading some salt so that he will not fall and die right in front of you? And they laugh with me, and look after me so I should not fall. I thought: I really love Norway and the norwegian mentality.

I sat at the first row and the prime minister sat three seats from me. And then I took my camera and sat down right in front of him 1,5 m (because of my 300 mm) and took photos. I thought: I really love Norway and the norwegian mentality that allows me to be so close to him with no security, just friendliness, openess and respect.

The short week I spent in Palestine I saw the massive supression of the occupation where everyone is considered as a potensial threat. Where there are no freedom.

Fayyad subject was "Rendezvous with Freedom" and talked how to build a Palestinian State and the peace process. His dilemmas is "damn if you do, and damn if you don't" (my words) - but his message is: "We will never know if we don't try"

Our Foreign Minister had good news to the press today: The palestinians will get an Embassy in Oslo!

We cross our fingers that Fayyad is right. In 2013 there will be a Palestine state!

Ps. I choose this photo instead of the ones I took just infront of him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.