Buckley Hughes World

By buckleyhughes

Just another day in the office

So, today was in theory just another day at work - too many emails, meetings and soup for lunch. Apart from the fact that I spent this morning at the degree congregation. Working within "the centre" we nearly all have set responsibilities during what have to be some of the most organised ceremonies in the universe.

My role is to stand at the top of the steps leading to the stage and ensure that the right graduand goes up to shake the hand of the Chancellor to get their degree. I'm the last check of at least 4 so really nothing should go wrong, but when it does I have set it right without making too much fuss.

And this winter they're streaming them live online.

It's one of the best bits about work - we're so hidden from the real purpose if the University it's nice to see the product of all my faffing with datasystems twice a year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.