Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Buildings on the site of St Vincent's at Solly St

A brief respite to the gloom at lunchtime provided an opportunity for a short walk to look for my blip of the day. Much of the area around the GA office has been re-developed and new blocks of flats now stand where once would have been the `little mester's' workshops. The St Vincent's site, which is just across the road has totally escaped this make-over and still stands in a derelict state. Lead has been stripped from the church roof and slate tiles from this building. Before the re-development the area was something of a red-light district but with more people living here this now seems to have changed. More about the area can be found at:
St Vincent's Church - Wikipedia

I debated about which photo to use and thought I might use this one but once I'd converted the above image to B&W (or sepia) I felt this was the most striking image and the one with a story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.