The Messy Room

By miketoons

Almost the ultimate disaster

These are my two new hard drives.

About two weeks ago one of my hard drives failed on me. All my photography, music and the last 16 years' digital illustration and design work was stored on it. Fortunately I had almost everything* backed up on a second hard drive.

I ordered a replacement straight away and things were restored much as they were within a few days.

Towards the end of last week my back up hard drive also failed. A great sense of unease came over me.

I had saved the day by prompt action after the first one died. If I'd waited a day or two I would have lost everything. Everything!

Isn't technology scary?

*I lost two weeks' worth of photos apart from those I had uploaded to Blipfoto and Flickr.

PS. In case you're wondering... the two that died were both Western Digital. The two new ones are Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex and Samsung Story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.