Living in Languedoc

By livinglanguedoc

Sad trees

This is a line of diseased plane trees near where I live on the Canal du Midi. THey are cutting them down, and all the trees in shot will go, along with the ones to the left that are out of shot and already gone.
A couple of hundred years of growth, but if they are sick and going to fall eventually... You can see two huge stumps to the left.

When I used to cycle round the woods in Bristol, there was a huge oak I used to hug as I went past on my bike. Very relaxing and centering in some way. I sort of feel I should have given them a hug too, before they went. It's a big hole in the summer shade and the scenery, and very close to town. I may have a pic of the row of them somewhere, I'll see and maybe link it in a comment below. Sorry about the quality, it was taken on my Treo750.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.