SAH on Blipfoto

By sahfotoblip

Happy Men , poorly cars... & a night out!

If you have ever wondered what the engine of a Mark II Ford Focus 2litre engine looks like... Here it is! Riveting stuff eh?!

My bank account is about to get a pre Christmas coronary! The car has decided it too would like a Christmas gift... that of a new alternator!

I'm getting a little cheesed off now as I still have the clutch to replace but am holding off while it is still behaving itself. I know that it will need doing in the early doors of 2011.

I've had the car for the last 3.5 years since it was 11 months on the road, virtually brand new. Unfortunately I clock up the mileage through work and the family living up north so a 4 year old car has approx 6 year old mileage. So now having had no bills other than a couple of tyres and brakes all wear and tear and right for the mileage in the last 3.5 years I'm now starting to get some 'other' bills come in.

I know I need to part company but I have an emotional attachment with it as I took my Dad to my grandmas funeral behind her hearse in 2007 in it just 10 months before I lost Dad himself. Silly I know, Dad really liked it and so do I and it's testament really that I haven't found a car that matches up to it.

But all I can see is it's going to get expensive.

Anyway this evening the lovely R took the faulty alternator out which made him a happy man as he had a car to tinker with and I went out with some lovely ladies and a few gents that I worked with earlier this year. Having the car to tinker with resulted in me not feeling too guilty about going out but I did have to take R's car which I'm not used to driving. I spent the first 5 minutes trying to find the rear windscreen wiper, couldn't find it, went to clear the snow off it manually and then realisation dawned... It's a saloon VW Passat... They don't have rear windscreen wipers!!! A real D'oh moment!!!

In the end it was a lovely evening thank you to all at TBS! You know who you are!! xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.