Gifts of Grace

By grace

Cheeky?

This cheeky duck is yawning.

Around lunchtime I saw that the bird table was under so much snow that the birds couldn't find their food. A lone thrush was hopping around under the table, pecking at the thin pickings. Taking its lead, I got all togged up went out and put fresh food and water under the table where there was more shelter.

As soon as I got out of my wet clothes two ducks arrived and hoovered up all the birds' food before moving on to the spot where I always put their food and scoffing that as well. They then collapsed in the snow for the next couple of hours, keeping an eye out for any birds that might dare to approach.

Fortunately ducks don't seem to like fat balls so the other birds eventually got to feed, and the ducks had trampled the snow so much that they could also dig for food.

This little winter scenario has given me pause for thought. I wasn't going to blip the ducks because they 'stole' all the bird food and I wanted a picture of the beautiful thrush that had set this story in motion. Control freak me? Nah. Greater scheme of things? Oh yes. Maybe this duck is not so much cheeky as smart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.