OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Near Salt Ness

Over to Shapinsay. I walked up to the hide at RSPB Mill Dam, but the dam was completely iced and birdless. I went on to Vasa Loch to look for a Bewick's among the Whooper swans there, but a land-rover from the castle headed down before me and all the birds shifted onto the sea. I met the RSPB warden and he took me to his house to meet the wife and have a bowl of soup. On the lawn red-legged partridges joined the small birds at the feeders. They're not native but introduced by the castle for shooting; I hope they stay around the warden's house where it's safe.

I headed on to Salt Ness, seeing otter tracks and slides on the way, and taking this photograph. Snow showers were frequent but I was lucky in having them at my back. More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.