schlimm

By schlimm

Icy cold

It was really quite cold this afternoon but we had spent most of the day indoors (me recovering from work's night out), L unwell with the cold (it seems to fell them one after the other) and S and A getting a bit restless. So, after having queued at postoffice for half an hour and getting some shopping done I took the two little ones to Blackford Pond. They wanted to see the ducks.

We got to the pond but it is more than full, postitively overflowing with thin ice on the path. Got the kids to walk behind me on the compacted snow (now ice) to the little playpark at the other end. When I got there I noticed that A's cheeks were blue and also her arms and legs (summertrousers without tights, wasnae me who dressed her...) so I thought it might be better to get her home rather quickly. I've been reading a survival story in the alps recently so the idea of frostbite was at the back of my mind (no danger of that here but I think one should be careful with children, they tend to get cooler a lot quicker than one thinks). Anyway, to cut a long story short I then put both A and S into the buggy (that way they would keep each other warm) and powerwalked back home (that made me warm too!).

The blip is of the ice having spilled onto the path reflecting the tired wintersun, not long though and the days will be getting that bit longer again!

I did not go for this, this cloud maybe hailing more snow (yes please!) it also made me have a chat with a 'neighbour' who was very friendly and it just shows that this snow experience has made people talk to each other much more than ever before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.