Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Irony

Today we should have decorated the tree.
I bought my tree on Thursday - the last 4ft one they had- and set it in place ready to be dressed today with the help of my grandson Jamie.
We didn't do it.
Reason... When I touched a branch, the needles fell off. Well not all of them, but quite a lot, sufficient to make it obvious that it had been out of the ground too long already.

Me being me, I phoned the the forester that I bought it from and told him my plight and that I wanted a refund, he wasn't keen but said he would do so if I returned the tree. This In one respect was fine -as in I was getting my £20 back- but it meant I would be without a tree, and today is the only day I have Jamie here to help, and without help from the kids... well, where is the point?

Ne Ne Ner .... Grumps to the rescue.

Some where hidden under the snow in the back garden lay lots of fallen branches that I have dragged back from my dog walks in Rush plantation just a field away behind my house.
Necessity being the mother of invention, Grumps found a base and nailed four if these branches to it and tied them together to form a tree type structure.
The day was saved.
I was happy and we could still have our moment and of course, the blip!

The irony...
The original tree was bought from the wood-yard of the local estate, the free dead branches came from the wood owned by same local estate.
I reckon I won this time, I will never have too buy a tree again, we will add to and refine this creation over the years to come.

Oh, the forester phoned to say he would come and collect tree...?we reckon he had some-one wanting a small one!.

In the pic Layla aka My happy little life, Jamie and me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.