Appreciation

By Appreciation

Jaquetta and the Beanstalk

After two birthday parties in two nights it was time for my girl to get her head back into the books and complete some revision before yet another Chemistry test on Wednesday. With no father at hand to help her with any problems (I'm a languages and arts girl) I roped in the Giant and her decorated hand to watch over her.

No. 1 boy is still in Germany. This mornings' flight cancelled - although he has text to say he is in departures awaiting a flight to Gatwick! Oh no he's not! Oh yes he Flipping well is! I should be delighted, but can't help holding back a little, as Gatwick is not the best place to be just now - Oh Yes it Is. Oh No its not.

In fact if you had to be flying anywhere today, you would be hoping it was not between London and Edinburgh. It has snowed most of the day here and at present Edinburgh is closed to arrivals. Do I want him to be in London or Germany boys and girls? I can't hear you?

I should be ironing, wrapping things, sorting out rooms, anything really, but I'm leaving that to Cinderella or Widow Twanky. I am immersing myself in a new career of travel and weather hotspot girl. Ask me what road conditions are like in Wales, Yorkshire, Newcastle, I know. I can quote what trains are running, lines closed, airports closed, I can tell you how much snow there has been and the temperature in Bristol, Bedford, Glasgow and Manchester. But I can't tell you where is best for my No. 1 boy to be just now. I hope mother goose and her golden egg are looking after him.

No happier news from either set of parents. Both have stories of doom and gloom. Well life's like that sometimes, a bit of a pantomine and all you can do is sit back, watch and sing along.

Edit: Ah and just as I post the text to say Dusseldorf now closed - going no-where again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.